## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Thursday, 24 December 2020

## BIODIVERSITY CONSERVATION TRUST BOARD ENTERS NEW ERA

Three new members have been appointed to the board of the Biodiversity Conservation Trust (BCT) to help drive conservation outcomes on private land across NSW.

Environment Minister Matt Kean said the new board members will bring a wealth of skills and experience to the board.

"In just three years, more than 230 private landholders have signed or committed to entering into a conservation agreement with the BCT, creating conservation areas across 59,300 hectares of the State." Mr Kean said.

"The new board members will play a key role in growing that footprint and continuing the important work to protect and conserve important biodiversity on private land and work in partnership with landholders across NSW."

The new appointee's are:

- **Mr John Pierce AO**: former NSW Treasury Secretary and Chairman and Commissioner of the Australian Energy Market Commission.
- **Prof. Hon. Niall Blair**: former NSW Minister and Professor of Food Sustainability at Charles Sturt University.
- **Ms Karen Zirkler**: CEO of Southern New England Landcare and former non-Executive Director and CEO of a non-for-profit organisation focused on biodiversity protection in the agricultural sector.

The Minister thanked outgoing inaugural Chair, the Hon Robert Hill AC, and outgoing members Dr Neil Byron, Ms Renata Brooks and the Hon. Gary Nairn AO for their service and advocacy for biodiversity throughout NSW.

"Mr Hill has overseen the establishment of the BCT and the implementation of successful programs to accelerate private land conservation in NSW," Mr Kean said.

"I also want to thank Dr Neil Byron, Ms Renata Brooks and the Hon. Gary Nairn AO for their contribution to protecting our State's extraordinary natural environment and wish them all the best for their next ventures."

The new members join continuing board member Ms Virginia Malley, Dr David Freudenberger, Mr Duncan McGregor and Mr Russell Taylor.

The Biodiversity Conservation Trust Board was established in 2017 under the *Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016.* 

MEDIA: Teaghan Wilson | 0455 151 398