

## **Central Tablelands Regi**

**The Central Tablelands** region of Central West **NSW** covers the western fall of the Great Dividing Range and includes the towns of Lithgow in the east to Cowra in the west, and Gulgong in the north to Oberon in the south.

The Central Tablelands is distinguished from other Australian regions by its dissected ranges, granite basins and once extensive woodlands.

It has a temperate climate with cool winters, warm summers and rainfall at any time of the year. Montane areas in the Central Tablelands experience more mild summers and occasional winter snowfalls.

The region is part of the traditional lands of the Wiradjuri people, which encompasses parts of the Murrumbidgee, Lachlan, Macquarie and Murray River catchments.

European settlers first inhabited the region in the early 1820s and found the grassy woodlands and plains on basalt soils very attractive for both grazing and cropping.

The Lachlan and Macquarie Rivers are the major drainage systems. River She-oak (Casuarina cunninghamiana)

dominates the riparian vegetation at lower elevations while Ribbon Gum (Eucalyptus viminalis) is more often encountered higher up.

Much of the remaining vegetation occurs on the poorer granitic soils, composing dry sclerophyll forests dominated by eucalypts.

The once extensive box gum grassy woodlands have now been mostly cleared for agriculture so remnants are especially important to woodland birds including the critically endangered Regent Honeyeater (Anthochaera phrygia).

For more information on how to participate, refer to detailed information at www.bct.nsw.gov. au or phone 1300 992 688.

www.bct.nsw.gov.au

email: info@bct.nsw.gov.au phone: 1300 992 688





**■ NSWBCT ■** BCT\_NSW



