New BCT Board announced by Environment Minister

Three new members have been appointed to the board of the Biodiversity Conservation Trust (BCT) to help drive conservation outcomes on private land across NSW.

Environment Minister Matt Kean said the new board members will bring a wealth of skills and experience to the board.

“In just three years, more than 230 private landholders have signed or committed to entering into a conservation agreement with the BCT, creating conservation areas across 59,300 hectares of the State,” Mr Kean said.

“The new board members will play a key role in growing that footprint and continuing the important work to protect and conserve important biodiversity on private land and work in partnership with landholders across NSW.”

The new appointee’s are:

  • Mr John Pierce AO: former NSW Treasury Secretary and Chairman and Commissioner of the Australian Energy Market Commission.
  • Prof. Hon. Niall Blair: former NSW Minister and Professor of Food Sustainability at Charles Sturt University.
  • Ms Karen Zirkler: CEO of Southern New England Landcare and former non-Executive Director and CEO of a non-for-profit organisation focused on biodiversity protection in the agricultural sector.

Read the full release from Matt Kean's Office here.

Our Who We Are page will be updated in mid-January 2021 to reflect the new (and continuing) Board appointments.